RSS

7/16/08 Jane Ormerod

16 Jul
Jane Ormerod

Jane Ormerod

“Jane’s poems–discontinuous, imagistic, chant-like, wide-ranging in its references, sonically dense–challenge more traditional ways of putting a poem together.” (Jee Leong Koh, 2008) Born on the south coast of England, Jane Ormerod moved from London to New York City in 2004. Jane’s work appears in numerous print and online journals and anthologies including A Cautionary Tale: Seven New York Performing Poets (Uphook Press, 2008), 21 Stars Review, eratio postmodern poetry, failbetter,Ginosko, Night Train, Whatever Literary Journal, and Word Riot. A spoken word CD, Nashville Invades Manhattan, was released in 2007 and a chapbook is forthcoming from Modern Metrics. She is a regular on the New York City poetry and spoken word circuit. Further afield, she has performed in Canada, The Netherlands, England and Germany, on radio and cable television, and in eight states across the US. Her website is www.janeormerod.com.

=================

 

 

Taxi Ride


I can’t sleep nights I have to be here, there, you know thump


It rains long hours sometimes longer

Sometimes more and more


Can’t you see how my body is tight?

For us to polish one single shoe together could be enough thump


And I won’t tell the Secret Service the sun

Rose in the wrong direction every day last week

I won’t thump tell thump anyone even you

Because it’s like clinking china with sweaty hands

The sun, tightness, darktime thump


(Animals and streets, there is no difference

Blood, adults, children, popcorn

All the same)


And I won’t thump

Leave thump

Levitate

Lactate

Believe in one delighted angel only thump


I am a sewer

I like funny with problems

When I was a boy, I cried behind the sofa thump


I am a sewer

I can say things twice thump


I am a manhole

I can differentiate between the barks of grey and brindle dogs

Chew the boiled eggs in my pocket

Gut the mackerel skin skies

I am again for rent


Do you hear me? thump again thump

Do you want to? Do you want want wish to move from here?

Now? Right now? So stick out that hand


You know I used to sleep through nights

I ran through woodland groves

The mosquitoes left me thump well thump alone

 

First published in Dirt, issue 2.5, 2006

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 16, 2008 in * A Few Poems, * Past Features

 

Leave a Reply

 
